Southern Railway BadgeSouthern Railway Logo

The Southern Railway

Southern Railway LogoSouthern Railway Badge

anim_construction_01.gif (2027 bytes)

This page is under construction.

The Southern Group (Southern Railway) was created by the 1923 regrouping from the following constituent companies :-


Company Name


London & South Western Railway Badge

London & South Western Railway LSWR

London Brighton & South Coast Railway Badge

London, Brighton & South Coast railway


London, Chatham & Dover Railway

South Eastern Railway SER
South Eastern & Chatham Railway SEC

The Southern Group was also made up of the following subsidiary companies :-


Company Name

Bridgewater Railway Bw
Brighton & Dyke Railway B&D
Canterbury & Whitstable Railway C&W
Hayling Railway Hay
Isle of Wight Railway IOW
Isle of Wight - Cowes & Newport Railway C&NR
Isle of Wight - Freshwater, Yarmouth & Newport Railway FYN
Isle of Wight Central Railway IWC
Isle of Wight (Newport Junction) Railway IowNJ
Isle of Wight - New Ryde Pier Railway R&NR
Isle of Wight - Ryde & Newport Railway R&NR
Lee-on-the-Solent Railway LoS
London & Greenwich Railway L&Gr
Mid Kent Railway MK
North Cornwall Railway NC
Plymouth & Dartmouth Railway P&D
Plymouth, Devonport & South Western Junction Railway PDSW
Sidmouth Railway Sid
Victoria Station & Pimlico Railway VS&P